Prolific in the Nighttime

Every night I intend to go to bed by a decent hour in order to get the amount of sleep I want before I wake up in the morning.

And every night I curse myself as I turn the lights out at 2, 3, 4, 5 AM.

You’d think I would have learned by now how to avoid this daily resentment of myself, but I haven’t.

I’ve come to the conclusion that my brain must function better between 8 PM and 4 AM.  I think of thing after thing to do–something to wiki, people to email, a TV show to watch, a book to read, an activity to do with one of my 8 academia classes, a new blog to write (very meta right now), travel to research, and on and on.

Once I start one thing, I have 3 other things on my mind that I attempt to accomplish simultaneously.  Why does this only happen at night?  I don’t know.  But I do know that I would hate to spend my afternoon this way.

Every afternoon between jobs I pretty much do nothing and I have no problem with that.  In fact, I end up echar-ing la siesta a lot of the time as a direct result of the little sleep I got the night before.  But when my brain starts going, kicking into full gear around 10:30 at night, it is so hard to tear myself away from my computer or my book just to go to sleep.  There are so many other things that I’ve thought of to do before bed.  And no matter how late it is, when I finally do go to bed it takes me at least half an hour to fall asleep.  Usually closer to an hour.  I just can’t stop thinking about everything that’s on my mind.

As inconvenient as it is, it’s pretty exhilarating keeping track of several things at once and if this is the time of the day that God decided I should be on my game, I’ll take it.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Prolific in the Nighttime

  1. sarah

    i’m the exact same! i just had this conversation with two people in the last few days about it. it’s like i poop out in the afternoon and then get my second wind sometime around 10. i think having to walk the dog for awhile around this time also has some impact (esp given that it’s getting colder)

Leave a Reply

