And for dessert, I’ll have some of the imagination.

I’ve found that a lot of people are lacking in imagination. Some people say that this is a cultural thing, that Spanish people are not encouraged to think outside the box, and while that may be true, I’m sure I could find a good number of unimaginative Americans.

So I won’t make any type of socio-cultural statements here, but only address the issue at hand: a strict and pervasive adherence to rationality.

I was almost going to write this post without mentioning Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance but it was actually this book that reawakened my “inner dreamer” if you will. I have to recommend this book as it made me think a lot and still continues to do so. So much so that I don’t even realize what changes it has incurred, which, I think, is always a good sign.

As I mentioned in another post, the book deals a lot with the conceptual division between reason and emotion, and I think that sometimes reason unjustly trumps emotion.

I’m a very practical and analytical person but there’s always been a side of me that likes to believe in the supernatural. I believe in souls and reincarnation and I know there’s a fortune-teller out there who can predict my future, if only I could find her.

Today over coffee with Yenni, fellow teacher Patricia, and her boyfriend Pablo, Yenni reminded herself that she had to go to our friend’s aunt’s store to get her Tarot cards read. Pablo quickly dismissed the whole notion as not only bullshit but also psychologically detrimental. I asked him if he didn’t just think it was fun to believe in the possibility that the Tarot cards could be true, but he wasn’t having any of it.

Furthermore, this past week in my adult classes we had a discussion about God. The majority of my students were so absolutely sure that God didn’t exist.  This may be influenced by the fact that they don’t know any other God besides the Catholic conception of God, but nonetheless, I found it sad that they couldn’t stretch their minds outside the realm of rationality. How can you be so certain about anything?

Why do people find it so unreasonable to believe in something without using reason? I wish more people allowed their imagination to take more precedence. You don’t need to only believe in things that you believe you can prove. You can also believe in things or believe in the possibility of things that don’t make sense. Would that be so bad? Wouldn’t life be more fun that way? More exciting? Instead of always pretending like we understand how the world works we could accept the fact that we really have no clue. I think so, at least.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “And for dessert, I’ll have some of the imagination.

  1. I 100% agree with you! It astounds me how little imagination people have, and also how little they *want* to imagine anything anymore. So sad…

Leave a Reply

