wordpress overload…and an unintended stream of consciousness

Why am I doing this to myself?  This is my 3rd post in a row TODAY.

But I’ve learned that when I have a thought I won’t be able to write about it the next day.  It must be today.

Even though it is 2 AM and I still have to prepare for a class.  This class tomorrow is supposedly stupid.  They are kids who have been held back and it is almost entirely immigrants.  But as far as I can see, they are just as bad of students as everyone else and I don’t see why they get their own special class.

That being said, nothing is expected of them in English class and I get to talk about whatever I want to talk about, unlike the other classes where I have to lead the same boring exercises/readings/dictations from the book.

The freedom is nice, but it’s inconvenient to think of something every week for just one class…and I can’t get all that creative since there is no projector for my computer or internet that I could use for youtube videos.

Anyway, I decided to just do the classes about topics that I happen to be educated about for whatever reason.  So my first class was about how to watch a movie, something I learned in my very first film class in college.  Last week I did the class about the way schools work in the U.S., and for tomorrow (which is now today) I’ve decided to do it about Shabbat.

You can laugh.  It’s funny.  But it’s something I can talk about without having to do much outside research and it’s something the kids know absolutely nothing about.

The sad thing is, I really intended to go to bed much earlier tonight.  Last night I stayed up till 3 AM downloading oldies songs.  This is the first time since sophomore year that I have downloaded music illegally.  I’m actually against downloading anything illegally but have secured myself a position here in Spain as #1 creative property stealer.  First it was TV shows, then movies, and now music. It makes me sick to think about the larger consequences of downloading illegally, the bankrupt industries that I’m stealing from, the people whose work is not being rewarded but that I am benefiting from, and my generation which will find itself with broke artists and entertainment and news industries because none of us are willing to pay for anything and won’t realize that this is a problem until we’re the ones who can’t make a living. But then again, we can’t make a living now as it is.

Anyway, I’ve acted selfishly (the essence of illegal downloading in the first place) and couldn’t be happier with my “purchases.”  A friend recently re-awakened in me my youthful love for oldies music, and I believe I have amassed possibly the best oldies collection to have ever been collected.  It’s like having my own Oldies 96.5 FM (before it became Oldies 107.5 which then became the morally bankrupt and bull shitty 107.5 The Eagle, the Greatest Hits of the 60s and 70s).

It makes me so happy to listen to the first music I ever knew and that I feared I would forget or never hear again.  Honestly.  It’s hard for me to close my computer when it comes time for me to go because I want to keep listening.  Every time I arrived home today, I rushed to my room to replay my playlist.  It consists of 202 songs.  I also made a 70s/80s pop rock and a 70s/80s folk playlist which have different selections of music that could also be considered “oldies” but that weren’t played on 96.5 when I was a kid.

Here are some of the bands I have:

Beatles, Creedence Clearwater, Four Tops, Temptations, Diana Ross and the Supremes, The Shirelles, Lovin’ Spoonful, The Guess Who, Three Dog Night, Herman’s Hermits, The Grass Roots, The Association, Beach Boys, Mamas and Papas, Smokey Robinson, 5th Dimension, Sam & Dave, Frankie Valli….and of course lots of one-hit-wonders.

I am so excited!  So happy!  Please make any recommendations if you think I’m lacking something and remember that this is 50s and 60s…I don’t want classic rock recs.  I already got enough of that.  This is good, classic oldies that they don’t play on the radio anymore cause it’s too “old.”

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “wordpress overload…and an unintended stream of consciousness

  1. Sara Chertoff

    if you still lived in the states you wouldn’t have to “steal” tv shows because you’d be able to watch them for free [legitimately] (with ads), but because the tv companies haven’t gotten their websites together to be viewed from international isps there is no other alternative for americans oversees who need their tv-fix.

  2. smg

    give us a taste of your 202 song playlist with a Top 20 Playlist

Leave a Reply

