Running in the wind

Yesterday night, at 12:30 AM, I went for a run in 60 mph winds.

Me?  RUNNING?  Yes.

When I joined my gym this month, the trainer lady had me do the treadmill as a warm-up.  I’ve always opted for the stationary bicycle as my cardio exercise, but I got used to the treadmill and didn’t find it so bad.  Earlier this week, I went for a run with Jenn and actually found it enjoyable.  On Friday Jenn and I ran together again and last night I decided to do it solo.

As I was running I came across several groups of 20+ people, just starting their night out, walking from “the suburbs” to the Old Part where all the bars are.**  As I ran past them I held my breath that none of them were my students.  I’m sure some of them were.

It’s hard to understand if you’ve never lived in Spain, but there are a few things about what I was doing that are very odd behavior in the eyes of Spanish people:

  1. I was running for exercise.
  2. I was a young woman running for exercise.
  3. It was a Saturday night.
  4. There were crazy-ass winds!

Numbers 3 and 4 make sense, I’ll give you that.  But Spain is possibly the most social country on Earth.  Going out isn’t really an option.  It’s just what you do.  This applies to any given day of the week, but particularly Thursday-Saturday.  They just don’t understand not spending the wee hours of the morning in a bar.

I definitely got lots of stares and some encouraging cheers from drunkies, to which I responded with a classic American thumb’s up.

To address number 4, I have no idea what’s been going on in this Earth of ours, but Miranda has been experiencing uncanny winds for the past 5 days.  Last night was was the worst, with near-hurricane speeds.  I had been wanting to go for a run all day as I had been feeling like I had a lot of pent-up energy, and I decided that I wasn’t going to let a little bit of wind get in my way.

Because of the winds, the electricity had been cutting out in our apartment, and as I went on my run I saw all the lights in Miranda go out.  It was exhilarating to continue running, feeling hidden and secret in the darkness, and realizing just how infrequently I experience pitch-blackness.  To my left, I saw a white-ish light on the ground, different from the usual yellow lights of the street lights.  I assumed that the light was coming from the building’s emergency flood lights but as I rounded the corner and could see the building in full, I realized that the light was actually moonlight.  I looked up at the moon, almost full, and noticed all the stars around it.  I continued running, struggling to move in the face of the powerful winds, and felt grateful for being reminded of the part of our world that existed long before we were ever here.


**I had no idea people traveled in groups that large and that far to go out on weekends.  It’s at least a 45-minute walk.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

