I’m back!

I’ve finally returned from my two week vacation to Portugal and Morocco.

I’ve decided that 2 weeks is the perfect vacation time–not too long, not too short–and even though it was only 2 weeks, it felt like I was away from Mierda de Ebro for a whole month!

I loved both of the countries that we traveled to but I think I enjoyed Portugal more.  I’m here to tell every American: Go to Portugal!!!!  I don’t know why we don’t think of going there when we travel to Europe but the country is gorgeous!

Jenn and I spent 3 days in Lagos on the southern coast, soaking up the sun and chilling on the beach and then we took a bus up to Lisbon.  Lisbon was wonderful as well and in many ways is a lot like San Francisco–Golden Gate bridge, hilly, hot in the sun and cold in the shade, fishing industry, and trolleys.  To sum it up, I LOVE PORTUGAL!!!!  

The reason I enjoyed Portugal more was because in Morocco we were with a tour group and I now know that I don’t like being with a tour group.  The idea was for us to be with people our age on the tour but it turned out that it was mostly people 40 and older.  I still had a great time in Morocco–the food was delicious, the countryside beautiful, the colors were rich and bright–but I would have enjoyed myself more having gone solo.

I will most definitely return to both countries in the future because I loved them both and have so much left to see!

My vacation gave me good perspective of my life here in Miranda and after returning “home” I’ve decided that Miranda is just a black hole where happiness goes to die.  It’s overcast every day, it’s STILL cold, and everyone walks around looking disgruntled.  I’ve been fighting back depression since the minute I got off the train, telling myself, “Don’t get depressed, don’t get depressed,” but I think I’ve come to the conclusion that it simply is inevitable in this town.  No one is happy here.

There are a few things I’m going to do to avoid thinking about my unhappiness (even though it still exists) and they are:

  1. Work out a lot at the gym.
  2. Take on a new kid to tutor so that I am busier with work.
  3. Work more closely with the English teachers to find out exactly what they want from me in the classroom (it hasn’t been clear up until this point).
  4. Apply/search for jobs galore in the U.S.
  5. Go to the beach on the weekend.

After having so much fun on vacation I can see that my dissatisfaction is ENTIRELY related to Miranda and I just need to get out of here.  Only 2 more months!!!!!!!!!!!!!  HURRAY!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “I’m back!

  1. sara

    i LOVED morocco! im so glad you liked it! i can’t wait to see more pictures… welcome back. i’ve been bored without your constant updates🙂 try not to be depressed. 2 months is no time and it will fly by so quickly.

  2. Pingback: Happy « Throwing in the Towel

Leave a Reply

