staying good

I just came back from having a drink with Laura May and Yenni, and it turns out people can be pretty shitty.

Laura May and I share several experiences where people have acted irrationally/cruelly/inexplicably towards us, and I take comfort in the fact that I don’t suffer alone.

I’m not a perfect person and I know that I’ve hurt people, but I really believe that I try to be a good person and treat people with respect.

If I ever feel as though I’ve done something severe to someone else, I apologize and I feel guilty.

Yet so many people fail to give such simple, afore-mentioned (and respectful, mature, and honorable) common courtesy!

And that leaves me lost in a frustrated confusion of WHY.

I spend so much of my time wondering what I did wrong, what I could have done differently, trying to comprehend where the other person is coming from, and guess what?  I can never come up with an adequate answer.  There’s always some unanswered question, something that still doesn’t make sense.

And that’s because it’s not me.  It’s them.  Even they don’t understand themselves and they’re too self-consumed to try to figure it out.

I’ve just got to let it go and accept that I’ll never understand what happened and that it’s not my fault.  As long as I always try to be a good person, that’s the best I can give, and it’s what other people deserve.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

