HOME SWEET HOME

I made it home safe and sound yesterday, after a painless 11 hour flight from Frankfurt.

I found out yesterday that, contrary to what I had believed, my mother does not have any work for me to do for her budding lazer tag company.  Nor does she know when she will have things for me to do.  I had been counting on coming home to an effortless job and now I have to come up with a plan B.

Here’s the problem: I don’t want to stay in Houston for very long.  Ideally I’d already have a job in another city and I would just move there right away.  But now that I have to look for a job even in Houston, I’m debating whether it’s worth it to look for a job here at all or to just move directly to L.A.

The plus-side to staying in Houston is that I would save money and it would also give me time to decide if Iwanted to take a short trip (2 months or less) to South America before moving away.  The down-side is that looking for a job is a bitch and a half and staying in Houston means doing that twice.  It also means that I’d have to get enthusiastic about moving several months down the line when I’m already psychologically prepared to do it now.  I’m worried that I’ll get comfortable in Houston and be too scared/lazy to move away when the time comes.  Also, a good friend in L.A. may be moving to New York within a year’s time, and then I wouldn’t be able to stay with her when I wanted to move to L.A.

So I’ve got to figure this pickle out.  I think I’ll probably just stay in Houston for the time-being cause it’s more practical.  I just wish that a decision could be straightforward for once.

To recap my life from the past week, I had a glorious time in England!  I spent 3 1/2 hours in the Imperial War Museum, which is something I had been wanting to do ever since I was only able to go for 1 1/2 hours the last time.  I also saw a play, and checked out some neighborhoods.  I had fun with Hannah and her friends both in London and in Oxford, and had a true English experience watching the England-Algeria game in a crowded pub.  With Jessica I had a SUPER Oxford time, punting (boating) on the river and attending a BALL!  The girls were actually wearing full-length dresses!  I was not…and was wearing a short dress of Jessica’s that was a little tight on me, and with the James Bond theme, people kept mistaking me for a Bond Girl.  Usually I would take that as a compliment.  Unfortunately, this particular evening it just meant that I looked slutty.

It was so great to be with close friends, relaxing, in an English-speaking country.  Very comforting.  It’s too bad, though, cause when I came back to Spain I could already feel my Spanish slipping.  Aahhh.  Which means I need to join a Spanish conversation group ASAP now that I’m back in Houston.  Oh, so many things to do.  For now, I’ve got to go to the grocery store.  My first trip to an American grocery store and I CAN’T WAIT!  It’s going to be HUGE and contain a large variety of brands and foods!  How wonderful.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “HOME SWEET HOME

  1. sara

    your mom has a lazer tag business? sounds cool 😉

Leave a Reply

