arrested development.

For the past week, I’ve been acclimating myself to the idea of living in Houston for up to 2 years.  But lately I’ve started to think that I would be stalling my life.

For one thing, I wouldn’t be doing something directly related to what I want to pursue.  For another thing, living in the same place where I grew up feels a lot like arrested development.

I find myself stuck in high school mode.  I don’t feel as empowered to be me.  I feel held-back by being around people who haven’t known me for the past 5 years.  This is no one’s fault; it comes out of falling into old roles and patterns.

If I’m going to stay here, I need to make my own set of friends.  It’s always hard to do that, but I do plan to take some dance classes (salsa, tango, and/or flamenco), join a Spanish-speaking group, and do some type of sport (unsure if it’ll be soccer or rock-climbing).  Hopefully I can meet people that way.

I’m sorry my posts recently have been entirely self-consumed.  I have had some really interesting things go on this week but they’re too personal to mention, so I’ve come off as lame.  I promise to do some philosophizing soon.

I must say that I did a hell of a lot more thinking in Spain.  Either I’m watching too much TV or have way less things to think about.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

