working woman

I’ve completed my first week of my first real job!

Since the 9 to 5 is a new mindset for me, here’s what I’ve learned:

You basically just do whatever is on your to-do list until you’ve checked off everything on the list.  Then you wait for new things to add to the to-do list.  Or you find them.

It’s surprisingly simple.  Knowing this makes me understand how studies show that employees are just as productive when they work in more relaxed work environments.  Because there simply isn’t something you can work on every minute of the 8-9 hours you’re at work!  It’s more practical and it helps morale to give employees the freedom to take a break or to do some office socializing.

I’m still very clueless, though.  I have to ask for help multiple times a day.  I’m stressed that I’m not going to be prepared for everything cause it’s going to slip my mind or I won’t even know to prepare for it. And on top of that, I want to improve upon what’s already been accomplished…which means I need to do my job and still find the time to do it creatively.  One day at a time, I guess.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

