the rise and fall of Attractiveness

Call me arrogant, but I have noticed a positive shift in men’s attraction to me.

There are a few things I can think of that explain this:

  • I don’t have short hair anymore
  • Confidence
  • Post-college marriage pressure

To explain the second bullet point, basically, I have lost my inferiority complex. I’ve always had weird issues with age because I was always the youngest in my grade–when I would talk to people I would often wonder to myself, “Am I sounding young?”  But now that I am no longer a student, I feel like I am on a level playing field with all the other professionals who don’t have kids yet. Granted, I probably do sound young or inexperienced to some people, but at least it’s not because my entire life experience has been school.* It’s because I’m 22…but I like to think that my naiveté and passion are endearing.

Naturally, this comfortability translates into confidence, and (along with a youthful enthusiasm for life!!,) people are attracted to that.

To explain the third bullet point, people are suddenly very aware that this boyfriend could be a future husband. In college it’s all fun and ‘living in the moment’ but then when college is over you realize that marriage is actually a feasible possibility.** Which kind of ups the ante whenever you meet someone. All of my friends who are my age don’t want to get married now, but that doesn’t mean that they couldn’t date someone now who they end up marrying later. And on top of it, I frequently meet older guys, and they probably do want to get married sometime soon. Since I’ve never given off the slutty vibe and instead have probably give off a wifey vibe, I’m more attractive in a post-college state of mind.


Of course, since I’m a neurotic person, my awareness of my own attractiveness only partially uplifts my self-esteem, as the other part is fatalistically counting down the days to the time when my golden age is no more. It can’t last forever, and at some point in the future I’ll reach my peak, and it’s only downhill from there.

Ou sont les neiges d’antan?


*I want all my friends in grad school to know that I don’t think they sound young or inexperienced because they haven’t lived in the ‘real world’–I only apply these rules to myself.

**Some weirdos realize this while still in college.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

