zen

The last 15 minutes of my yogalates class are devoted to resting and stretching, and at the end of today’s class, I found myself waking up from a hypnotic-like state.

I have no idea how long I had been out, but I woke up to the instructor’s voice directing us to put our bodies in a different position.

I had been dreaming about a hypothetical situation in the future, and in the process had lost all awareness that I was in a room full of strangers.*

When I woke up, I realized the music was very sad and what I had been dreaming about was also very sad.  But the class had put me at peace with that.  Sometimes life is sad.

I’ve been feeling rather fatalistic lately; there are so many things that must be the way they are. That doesn’t mean they don’t have an emotional effect on us, but I think there is tranquility in accepting that there are forces greater than us.

 

*In a way I am actually proud of myself for losing so much self-awareness, since I think it has limited me in the past, especially in the pursuit of acting.  I also like knowing that this dream was so emotionally significant to me that it had the power to bring me out of my surroundings. It’s good to give yourself over to something sometimes.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “zen

  1. Yenni

    Ariela! Isn’t this the coolest thing? I want to be able to meditate all the time because you feel so good afterwards!

Leave a Reply

