i am an extraordinary human being.

I’ve come to the un-egotistical conclusion that I am an extraordinary human being. I’m smarter, maturer, more conscientious, more ambitious, more passionate, more honest, more dependable and more motivated than the majority of the population. I sound like a real asshole, but I swear it’s not pompous for two reasons: 1. It’s not intrinsically impressive; 2. I don’t believe these qualities give me greater moral worth.*

I’m frequently disappointed, bored, or hurt by people simply because I expect them to be like me, and they’re not. And since, empirically, people like me are rare, that makes us by definition extraordinary, while everyone else is ordinary. The bar of extraordinariness is not set high. (For the record, my friends are extraordinary, too).

Coming to this realization will help me accept differences in opinion or clashing worldviews. I like to justify or rationalize my opinions by arguing them with someone who doesn’t share them. Every time I do that, though, I walk away with more self-doubt than I did at the beginning because the other person’s mere disagreement cracks holes in the foundations of my beliefs. It’s worth it with a fellow extraordinary person, because those cracks are legitimate and should be examined. However, it’s not worth destabilizing your world view for an ordinary person because he/she simply lacks the maturity/brains/worldliness you have. You’re not on an even playing field.** Now that I realize this basic law of nature, I’ll be able to relieve myself of reckless self-questioning.

It’s good to not be too self-assured, but that doesn’t mean I have to subject myself to constant destabilization in the pursuit of truth. A part of growing up is getting better at not doubting yourself. I’ve wasted so much energy over the years worrying about if what I’m inclined to do or feel is “right.” While there may not be an absolute right or wrong, I’m trusting my instincts more wholly, recognizing that they are reflective of what’s “right” for me.

*In addition, I recognize I am behind the pack in some categories, namely athletics.

**Granted, it’s conceivable that you could learn a thing or two from an ordinary person.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “i am an extraordinary human being.

  1. Pondrr

    So many directions this post can send me, all of which I’ve been thinking about lately.

    1. The concept of different kinds of intelligence–always a favorite subject of mine.
    2. The transient nature of a person’s traits and value: I know I’m a different person today than I was yesterday, yet people almost invariably think of others as static and unchanging. 10 years ago, I would never be considered ” smarter, maturer, more conscientious, more ambitious, more passionate, more honest, more dependable and more motivated than the majority of the population,” But today, I might. To what extent should society allocate resources in hopes that people will change at the expense of those who are already proving themselves superior? Which leads me to the third thing this raises in my mind,
    3. Created equal and remain equal? Thomas Jefferson’s ubiquitous quote has been construed to mean that all of us are equal at birth but also construed to mean we should all remain equal in a Harrison Bergeron-esque way. And what does equal mean? Valued? More highly ranked to receive social benefits? And does the truth lie somewhere in between, or could it be that “created equal” is lip service to an idea which, in practice, is an unachievable ideal. The level of my cynicism changes by the day.

    Whenever you’re back in town, let’s discuss–I’ve been reading a few things lately that will give me plenty of fuel to talk about these things!

  2. Benjamin E.

    To the point of the double-asterisk:

    (*Starts singing*) “Ve-eize-hu, ve-eizehu chacham, / Ha-lomeiiid, ha-lomeid mi-kol a-dam.” 😉

  3. Jeffry

    It would have been a lot less time consuming to say, “I’m better than you.” Without going into your theme of sesquipedalian verbiage; waving the superior flag only gives off the sense of low self esteem. My advise…stop trying to impress everybody and just be yourself.

  4. Phelonious

    There are so many flaws throughout this article that I don’t know where to begin….

    Your superior intelligence was somehow a little redundant in your opening sentence with proclaiming yourself both ‘ambitious’ & ‘motivated’.

    You touch on lessons of growing up, but you have an incredible amount of growing up to do. You think you are better than everyone at everything except for athletics. If you don’t get how ridiculous that is, just read it again…

    This rant is reminiscent of a privileged, self-righteous, ditzy girl…. Oh wait… that pretty much describes you.

    You recognize that there is no absolute ‘right or wrong’ but you think you are always right.

    You are also extremely condescending in your description of ‘ordinary’ people. “less maturity, brains and worldliness” do you have an idea of how you make others feel? I get a visual image you basking in your own self proclaimed glory as you patronize service employees that have far less opportunities than you and likely understand sacrifice more than you ever could.

    Mature people don’t think they know everything, you probably micromanage the hell out of everything.

    Maybe your immature ordinary people have made sacrifices for raising children, maybe the ‘brainless’ public have wonderful musical or artistic talents, better literary skills, a knowledge of history or other superior gifts that you are too short sighted to see.

    If you are so great what have you accomplished? Don’t say graduate from expensive out of state private schools that your parents paid for.

    You truly disgust me.

    The problem with the Internet is that it gives trolls like you a podium…

  5. Phelonious

    You probably would have thought Ceaser Chavez was an ordinary person that could never understand or appreciate pretty much anything like you can. Just another hispanic farmer that probably couldn’t follow one of your ridiculous rants..

    • Jess

      No… I’m pretty sure that this blogger would agree that “Saysar Chavez”* was an extraordinary human being, too.

      *For the record, Phelonious, it’s spelled Cesar. Just thought you might like to know for any blog trolling you do in the future.

  6. Pingback: Haters, they gonna hate | Throwing in the Towel

  7. Pingback: The meaning of life | Throwing in the Towel

Leave a Reply

